Living Legends of Auto Racing Announces 2017 Honorees

Daytona-based Living Legends of Auto Racing (LLOAR) announced its slate of honorees for their 25th Annual Awards Banquet. The event is scheduled for Wednesday, February 22, 2017 at The Shores Resort and Spa in Daytona Beach Shores. Since 1993, the LLOAR annual awards night has been one of the highlights of the stock car racing mecca’s “Speedweeks” festivities.

Motorsports-LLOAR logoThe Living Legends of Auto Racing, Inc., was founded in 1993 with an objective of recognizing those that have contributed to building the sport of organized stock car racing, from the days of beach racing in the 1940s and 1950s to today’s great American pastime. LLOAR is an all-volunteer organization with a membership of more than 600 worldwide, many of whom are instrumental in the maintenance and operation of its “Museum of Racing History” in South Daytona. LLOAR has also partnered with the City of Daytona Beach in the creation of the “Memorial Brick Walk of Fame,” a permanent tribute to the greatest names in stock car racing.

The list of 2017 honorees includes these motorsports personalities:

Pioneer of Racing AwardBrownie King, NASCAR Grand National Series (now called the Sprint Cup Series) and NASCAR Convertible Series veteran. He competed in 121 sanctioned events from 1956 to 1961, recording two top-5 finishes and 25 top-10 finishes. In 1959, he logged a 5th place finish in the Convertible Series standings, one place behind 4th place finisher “King” Richard Petty.

Distinguished Driver AwardSterling Marlin, NASCAR Sprint Cup and Xfinity Series competitor. Marlin made 825 starts in NASCAR’s top two levels, winning the Daytona 500 twice (1994 & 1995) and the 1996 Winston 500 in a career that ran from 1976 to 2009 and garnered 12 wins and 12 poles in Cup and Xfinity competition. Marlin was the 1983 Winston Cup Series Rookie of the Year, and has been recognized twice (1995 & 1996) as Tennessee Professional Athlete of the Year

Dedicated Service AwardAllan E. Brown, noted racing historian and former producer/editor of National Spedways Directory. He is also well-recognized for authoring the “History of America’s Speedways – Past and Present,” a detailed analysis of over 8,000 racing venues in the United States. Brown and wife Nancy compiled roughly two million miles in their travels, visiting and documenting the story of over 2300 tracks in the U.S.  Brown is a member of the Michigan Motor Sports Hall of Fame (2011), the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame (2009), and The Villages Motor Racing Fan Club Hall of Fame (2014), and in 2002 he and Nancy received the Stew Reamer Award for lifetime service to the weekly racing industry.

Russ Moyer Media AwardDave Moody, veteran Motor Racing Network (MRN) and Sirius XM NASCAR radio personality and Sirius XM voting representative on the 48-person panel that selects the annual class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Moody has been a Motorsports broadcast journalist since 1983, and currently serves MRN as lead turn announcer for Sprint Cup, XFINITY and Camping World Truck Series events. As host of the nationally syndicated Sirius XM show Sirius XM Speedway, Moody is recognized by many as one of the most authoritative voices in motorsports.

Allison Family AwardChip Ganassi, well-respected team owner and former race car driver, with a resume that includes five appearances in the Indianapolis 500 in a career span of six years (1981 – 1986). After a driver career-ending crash in 1986, he went on to field teams in the IndyCar Series, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Tudor United SportsCar Championship, World Endurance Championship, and Global Rally Cross. Chip Ganassi Racing presently fields cars for Jamie McMurray and Kyle Larson (Sprint Cup), Brennan Poole (Xfinity), and Scott Dixon, Tony Kanann, and Charlie Kimball (IndyCar).

Tribute to the Early DaysWill Cagle, legendary Florida short track driver with over 900 wins in a 30-year career behind the wheel. He also served as promoter and racing official at several tracks, and last year at age 78 made a brief return to competition in the Allentown Indoor Auto Race at the PPL Center in Allentown, PA.

Saturday Night Hero AwardBobby Brack, South Florida racing legend. Known as “The Chief”, his trademark #57 race car was a fixture on the Southern circuit for over three decades. As a NASCAR Winston Cup competitor, he raced at such tracks as Daytona, Atlanta, Charlotte, Rockingham, and Talladega. Brack has been inducted into the Hialeah Speedway Hall of Fame, the Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway Hall of Fame, and The Villages Motor Racing Fan Club Hall of Fame. Brack’s distinguished performances on the stock car circuit earned him a spot as a stunt driving double in the biker cult film, Wild Rebels (1967).

The Ray Fox AwardMike Curb, a 40+ year veteran car owner who fielded cars for some of the sport’s biggest names, including Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Dale Jarrett, Johnny Sauter, and Kyle Larson, to name a few. His statistics include more than 500 wins and 25 championships in 40 different Motorsports series. His resume includes wins in all of NASCAR’s racing series, from the K&N East and West series all the way up to Cup level. In addition, he is founder of Curb records and, while serving as California’s 42 Lieutenant Governor, filled in as acting-Governor of the sate during then-Governor Jerry Brown’s absence. Curb is a member of the West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame (2006).

The Living Legends of Auto Racing Museum is located at Sunshine Park Mall, 2400 S. Ridgewood Ave. (U.S. 1). South Daytona. They are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, and welcome visitors to tour their facility. If you’re in the area, give them a call to find out their operating hours (386-763-4483). If you’re into stock car racing and NASCAR history, it’s worth the visit!




Want more information like this? Subscribe today and get the latest news!

 Start the Discussion

What's Your Opinion?

We welcome your comments! Join the discussion and let your voice be heard.